## HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES, October 28, 2019

The Waverly Historic Preservation Commission Meeting was held on Monday, October 28, 2019, at 5:15 pm at the Waverly Civic Center.

Members present: Don Meyer, Kris Brunkhorst, Linda Hovden, Glenn Fenneman, Mary Meyer and Peter Newell. Also present was City Liaison Isaac Pezley and Council Liaison Brian Birgen. There were no visitors present. Absent: Karen Lehmann

The meeting was called to order by Don Meyer. The agenda was adopted and the September 2019 minutes and amended August 2019 minutes were approved.

## **REGULAR BUSINESS:**

- 1. Don Meyer advised us that there were three hard copies of the Alliance Review magazine article written by Karen Lehmann.
- 2. New officers were elected by unanimous votes. The new officers are as follows: Don Meyer (President), Karen Lehmann (Vice President), and secretary will continue to be a rotating office.
- 3. Don Meyer reported on the Facade Grant Committee representation. He spoke with Bill Werger and will include us in the next round of grants for downtown improvement.
- 4. Don Meyer reported on the Wartburg College Historic District map. Don showed us a map of the proposed historic district. Rebecca McCarley of SPARK Consulting has completed the first round of documentation. The district now appears to be register eligible which is enough to receive state tax credits. It is unlikely that Wartburg will complete the process for the registration of the historic district.
- 5. Mary Meyer gave a report from the Post Map Committee. She said that at Wartburg Homecoming an additional 12 maps were sold. We have approximately 150 maps left. There are other possible events where maps may be sold such as Christmas on Main.
- 6. Isaac Pezley reported on the Farmer's Exchange Building. He said that it should be done before the end of 2019 and there may be a dedication in May of 2020.

NEXT MEETING: The next meeting is scheduled for Monday, November 25, 2019, at 5:15 pm at the Waverly Civic Center.

Rotation of HPC Acting Secretary: Fenneman, Hovden, Brunkhorst, Lehmann, M. Meyer, Newell

Submitted by:

/s/ Peter Newell